top of page

Theology

Good God, God:

by Instructor Dov Ber Naiditch

Lord of hosts

Lord with the most

heavenly host

God of the five,

the twelve,

the one and some change, God.

God of the random exchange, God

Lord of that weird

condensation I get on my beard

when it’s freezing, God.

God of the good god,

God of the dear god.

God of the oh god,

God of the god no.

God of the heavens

and mirth.

God of the time on the lake with the beer

and the bees and the mess we made in that poor guy’s cabin.

God of forgiveness?

God of the form and the function

God of the junction

God of other words that end in unction.

You are the God of tongues talking

Tripping, slipping up syllables, similes.

You are the God of hot coffee,

of ice cold ice cream you scream we all scream for…

You are the God of giving up my seat on the bus for that old

dude, the crazy one with the wool Steelers cap in mid

summer, even though he smells like a hamster cage and

I probably need it more than he does.

God of the wandering mind

the wondering mind

God of gods,

gods who laud you God

Lord of the itchy palms

Lord of the Psalms

Lord of the qualms, of alms

Show me how to end this poem, lord.

I wait for your sign eagerly

like I waited for that watch I got

when I sent in those box tops.

The crappy one with the buttons

that wouldn’t work, so it was always

on Pacific time. Or at least that’s

what I told everybody. I was eight

for God’s sake.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page